*

I got your letter.

Thanks a lot.

 

*

 

I’ve been getting lots of sun.

And lots of rest.

 

*

 

 

It’s really hot.

 

*

 

Days, I dive by the wreck.

 

 

Nights, I swim in the blue lagoon.

 

*

 

 

Always used to wonder who I’d bring to a desert island.

 

 

 

*

 

Days, I remember cities.

 

 

 

Nights, I dream about a perfect place.

 

*

 

Days, I dive by the wreck.

 

Nights, I swim in the blue lagoon.

 

*

 

 

Full fathom five thy father lies.

 

Of his bones are coral made.

 

 

*

 

Those are pearls that were his eyes.

 

*

 

Nothing of him that doth fade, but that suffers

a sea change

into something

rich

and strange.

 

*

 

 

And I alone am left to tell the tale.

 

 

Call me Ishmael.

 

 

*

 

I got your letter. Thanks a lot.

 

I’ve been getting lots of sun, and lots of rest.

*

 

 

It’s really hot.

 

 

*

 

Always used to wonder who I’d bring to a desert island.

 

*

 

Days, I remember rooms.

 

Nights, I swim in the blue lagoon.

 

 

*

 

I saw a plane today, flying low over the island.

But my mind was somewhere else…

 

 

*

 

And if you ever get this letter, thinking of you.

love and kisses.

blue pacific.

signing off.

                                –         The Blue Lagoon

                                            Laurie Anderson

*

I really love this song. And the picture. And the sea. And leviathans.

I’d like to be buried at sea.

Just wrapped in a shroud and dropped overboard. A lei of plumeria to mark the spot as the boat heads back to shore.

Sound of water slapping against the hull.

Taste of salt on the air.

Sun going down.

*

Home, again.

*

Still I remain locked in mortal struggle against none but my own stubborn and recalcitrant self. Nor will I leave go of it. Neither succumb nor relent.

Perhaps towards morning I will smite myself on the hip and break the tie.

Perhaps not.

*

No matter my small trials and unhappinesses, I am yet clove to this woman of mine who loves me without holding back from it and by doing so is my salvation. I’d not trade her for all the glories of the wide world, nor all the sky mad strewn with stars, nor naught else that can be named.

I have sold my life to her and it is my great good fortune.

*

Namaste.

***