bridgekeeper

 

I like to play with my toys.

 

***

 

I spent today setting up our new health insurance plan. Figuring out what works for us on the road full-time is not easy, but I think this new thing we got into might be just the ticket. Still, I hope we stay healthy a while longer.

 

***

We’re getting ready to leave our cushy spot at Sam’s Family Spa and Hot Springs where we’ve been for a MONTH! I am so spoiled with twice daily soaks and swims and saunas and steambaths that I will for sure go through withdrawals once we are back out in the wild scrubbing our dry asses with sand!

 

But it is time to go.

Time to go or stay and be tamed! I’m not ready for that yet, thank you very much. But it is nice to have found a place that is wonderful and friendly and inexpensive and funky and magical- it actually is magical. Like, magic happens here almost continuously. I really do love every single thing about it. And all the wonderful people who wander in and out, stay a while, stay forever, come back every year- it attracts good folks mostly.

 

I am so grateful to have had this time and place that was so nurturing and supportive of practice and relaxation and healing.

thank you, Universe.

 

***

I’m looking forward to getting wild again. And our visit to NYC! We are going to meet up with a couple of our online friends while we are there- it’s going to be a love fest! And Christmas in New York City, with friends and beloved family new and old and museums and monks and cold and snow and what what what. Thank you, again, Universe! We are going to have so much fun.

 

***

I am profoundly blessed. Blessed with the best wife. Blessed with a beautiful life. I have a healthy body and a wildly creative mind and a good soul and just the right amount of mostly imaginary problems to chew on. I have my path and my wonderful teachers. I have the intertubes and books and movies. I have good food and great places to eat in that are all new and changing and my yard changes all the time and so do my neighbors. My needs are few and growing fewer. I don’t have to work any more. I don’t owe anyone anything. I am free to do what I want and go where I want. I love this life. I’m so grateful for every single thing that has ever happened to me. Especially the bad things. And especially the good things. And even the boring parts. It’s crazy to me that at fifty-two my life feels like it is ramping up- getting more and more exciting, more fun, more rewarding, more challenging, more exotic, more of everything.

It would be wonderful to stay alive and healthy for a long time, and perhaps that will be my experience. But already I’ve been blessed with a full life, and if I die tomorrow I won’t have any regrets about it.

My life is full of good people like you. You come here and you read and sometimes you leave comments and I feel you here. I feel the connection. I feel the goodness and the love and for that I am so deeply grateful I could cry about it. Everywhere I look I have good people and more show up every day. Thank you for being my friends. You sustain me in my dark hours.

Things keep unfolding just the way they do. I’m happy to bear witness to it all.

 

***

 

I hope your holidays are bright and wonderful and filled with love. The one thing I’d urge you to do is to open up to them, don’t fret over all the stress and noise and difficulty but let that be the crunchy topping that you can break through to get to all the dark, gooey, sweet and sustaining goodness underneath.

 

***

May you be happy, may you be at peace, may you and everyone you love be free from suffering.

 

***

Namaste.

 

***

 

