***

How fortunate we are to be alive and share this earth with this holy being!

My wish is that we can all let him take up residence in our hearts and guide our thoughts and our conduct, so that we may live with peace inside us, and radiate peace to the world and all beings in it.

***

hh dalai lama

                                                                    

Last week I dreamed about him. He smiled at me, patted my head a few times, “Yes, yes, yes,” he said to me, laughing.

“Yes, yes, yes.”

***

***

Khenpo10

I had the good fortune to attend a three-day teaching on Shentong Madhyamaka with Khenpo Tsering over the July 4th weekend. It was a more in-depth examination of Buddha Nature Mind that we were introduced to with Lama Jampa Thaye’s presentation a few months ago on the Shentong.

Khenpo’s approach was totally different to Lama Jampa’s, so the benefit of getting both views felt profound to me. Both of them are accomplished scholars and practitioners and they impart a very pure Dharma. I feel so lucky to have received these teachings.

Khenpo taught from a text written by the Third Karmapa, called “A Teaching on the Essence of the Tathagatas- The Tathagatagarbha”, which is itself a commentary to “The Treatise that Teaches the Buddha Nature” by Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Thaye the Great.

Khenpo gave us a great teaching, going fully into the root text and unpacking each word, each sentence, each stanza, with great care and attention, and providing us with real world, concrete examples and explanations of what can seem quite esoteric when first encountered.

And after the teachings I hung out with my kid and babysat the grandbabies and I managed to fit in a couple of very good practice sessions in the mornings and evenings, so the days were quite full. Life and the teachings and practice all mixed together, like it should be!

***

In other news, my wife may soon return from her travels!

Yippie-kai-yay!

***

May you be happy, may you be at peace, may you be free from suffering,

and may you bring joy and happiness to everyone you encounter today.

Namaste.

***

photograph of HH Dalai Lama by Ben Stansall/AFP/Getty Images

