thejohnsens

*

Our daughter was married last weekend, I’m sure most of you saw The Woman On The Verge’s post about it, so this is, literally, last weeks news. But still. Here I go.

The-Woods-Are-Lovely-Dark-

This picture captures to me a little bit of what she was about to endure, what we were all about to endure through her and at her hands, what storm was coming into the world and into our souls, just before it blossomed into full throated roar. Darkness, yes, and solitude, and confusion, despair, danger. The woods were lovely, dark, and deep. Except not lovely at all.

And look at her now, with those babies and that beautiful man. In her glorious dress on her perfect day.

She really did go on the hero’s journey. And came back with the golden fleece. She saved herself and by extension, she saved us all. And made new babies. And so keeps the world turning.

I have never been more proud of a human being in my life and I love her to death for every second of it.

God save the Queen!

***

I have become unbearable in all of my particulars. Happy, contented, blissed out. Like George Bailey, running around shouting “HELLO BEDFORD FALLS!” at the top of my lungs everywhere I go.

I will celebrate it, though.

Haven’t we all of us earned our measure of happiness?

We have done.

***

Equal to the child that got married is her mother, my own woman. How a man may have two queens in one lifetime I am unfit to say, but I have them and have won them to me and have spent and broken myself upon them and for them and been patched and balmed by them in equal measure and truly where is the man with equal riches?

Not to be found on this green earth.

Nor in the glittering stars above.

***

Something going on as well on the spiritual front, astounding to experience and a bore to hear about I’m certain. All I will say on the matter is that every mystic who has gone before can vouch for me.

I am where all streams converge.

***

I am dedicated to your benefit from this moment on, forever. For each of you, for all of you, for all of us, without reservation or limit.

May all beings find happiness and the cause of happiness, 

may they be free from suffering and the cause of suffering.

May they not be separated from the great happiness which is free from suffering,

May they abide in great equanimity, free from attachment and aversion to those near and far.

***

Thank you all for your kindness and support all these years, especially through those handful of very dark, very traumatic ones. We always felt your love and it sustained us. It yet does.

***

Namaste, all y’all bitches.

***

