teacher_shamarpa

 

*

Those of you who read here regularly know that my teacher, Shamar Rinpoche, passed away on June 11th. It was his wish that his remains be cremated in Nepal and placed in a stupa near his monastery in Kathmandu. Permission for this was initially granted by the government of Nepal, but was recently withdrawn.

I’ve signed this petition requesting that the government of Nepal overturn their decision and allow his remains to enter the country and for the cremation ceremony and interment proceed according to his wishes. I’m sharing the link to the petition here for anyone who wishes to sign it.

I’m doing this because I want to honor my teacher’s wishes for his own remains, and in support of my teachers and Dharma friends who have committed to travel to Nepal for the ceremony, and it is my profound wish and prayer that the Nepalese government will reconsider their stance and allow this to occur.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and even if you don’t want to sign the petition I hope that you’ll add a wishing prayer of your own if you are so inclined.

Namaste.

 

***

 

Petition to allow Shamar Rinpoche’s remains to enter Nepal

***

 

