*

 

Jesas, you holem hand blong mi.

 

*

 

Rain falls all around our small house. Inside, dogs snore and art gets made. Diapers get changed and a baby gets rocked in his mother’s arms. Food in the pantry ready to get cooked up.

 

*

 

All bad things are far away, nor will they find us today.

 

*

 

 

Maybe it will be so.

 

 

*

 

 

My sleep has been disturbed of late and I feel the effects of it. Sleepy all the time. I’m deaf as a post and half blind. I must be a hell of a thing to live with. The women just laugh at me, stumbling around, cruising by them, their questions hanging unaswered in the air.

I feel like a great bear coming out of hibernation. Or still in hibernation. Maybe I’ll turn into a butterfly. Hell, I don’t know.

 

*

 

They hauled my neighbor off to jail this week. He’d been continuously molesting his children and torturing his wife. Been going on years and years. All this time I’d wave to him in the mornings on my way to work, my badge and gun on my hip.

My head up my ass, I guess.

 

It makes my soul darken.

 

*

 

 

There’s nothing for it.

 

 

*

 

 

My isolative impulses are in full flower. I’d dig a damn moat if I could, is what.

 

*

 

My troubles are but small, and my blessings are as numberless as the stars.

 

Nor have I forgotten it.

 

*

 

 

Namaste.

 

 

***

 

 

 

 

