*

 

This is for my wife.

 

*

 

But, you know, you can watch it, too.

 

*

 

I’ve been watching this show Parenthood with my kid. A freaking marathon of it. Hours and hours and hours and hours. Sitting on the sofa with her, wrapped up in her blanket, the little guy in his donut pillow between us, these people on the television loving and suffering together, working through their family stuff together.

I cry about every seven minutes.

We pass the little guy back and forth.

 

*

 

It is like being in a little spaceship, out in the vast emptiness of the spinning void.

 

My heart is all melty.

 

*

 

Anyway, I saw this little video here.

I really like the site.

 

*

 

So this guy in the little movie, he’s right up my wife’s alley. The magpie collector, that’s her, too. And how he lives his life, sitting outside his open door, letting everyone in…it’s the opposite of my every inclination.

And watching him, I see how small and fearful I am on the inside.

 

*

 

I want to be bigger on the inside.

 

*

 

Anyway. I’m sitting here, missing my wife, the baby is gurgling and thrashing and the kid is bouncing him and the people on the television are suffering and loving and failing and I’m going to go back and sit with the kid and watch them go at it.

 

We don’t have to say anything.

 

We can just sit there like bumps on a log.

 

*

 

Watch the little film.

 

*

 

 

Namaste.

 

 

***

 

