*

 

How can a man stand against this?

 

 

*

 

 

I am utterly undone by it.

 

 

*

 

I don’t know if I am worth a fuck or not. You’ll probably say I’m all these good things, but you don’t fear me like she does.

 

You don’t have the same experiences of me that she does.

 

*

 

But I pledge my poor strengths to her and that child of hers.

 

*

 

Is there a more beautiful sight?

 

No.

 

There is not.

 

*

 

Go, wipe me from the world. Go do your worst. I am nothing, or smaller than that.

 

But there is nothing grander than what I have brought into the world.

 

And what the child of mine has wrought.

 

*

 

I do not mind spending what small purse I have.

 

I will put it down and take what comes.

 

*

 

 

Ah, we are done for, aren’t we?

 

 

***

 

 

Namaste.

 

 

****

