*

Last night I dreamed I was back in the Coast Guard.

I saw my old captain, Ltjg. Alexander.

I saw Nob, the old cook.

The sea was dark and heaving beneath our gleaming white cutter.

I was happy as a pig in shit.

*

Something in me does love the harsh sea.

Though I know her, and should fear her better.

*

Today I am making Pho. I have made a stock with chicken stock and garlic and flame-charred ginger and sweet onions and star anise and cinnamon and fish sauce and lime juice and soy sauce and brown sugar and serrano chiles.

I will yet add mint and basil and cilantro and red onion and green onion and caramelized pork chops and whatever the hell else I can find to throw in there.

*

Here it is:

*

I have cleaned the house until it gleams and ditto for the dog.

*

We are all for the boneyard.

Let’s eat good in the meantime, shall we?

*

Namaste.

Bullet and Buddha, Casa De Lavaplatos Lacrimos Y La Mujer En El Borde      

****

