*

Happy Birthday to my blog, which turned five years old last week.

*

I want to say thank you to my blog for all it has given me. It has brought me a circle of wonderful friends, none of whom I have met in person, but all of whom hold rooms in my heart. Rooms and rooms and rooms. It has held my artwork and my thoughts and given me a place where I can wrestle with my demons and give praise to the wild universe which makes all things and then destroys them, myself not the lone exception.

Thank you, The Dishwasher’s Tears.

I am in your debt.

*

And a most sincere and heartfelt thank you to my readers, who sustain me in the darkness of night and drag me blinking into the riot of daylight over and over again.

*

Namaste, you Princes of New England!

***

A note on this piece. The face of the girl I took from a painting entitled “The Girl Who Finds You Here” by the artist Lu Cong, which I first saw on Peter Nidsgorski’s tumblr site “this isn’t happiness”. The original image and more of the artist’s fabulous work can be found here: lucong.

I don’t know if it is bad or not, this taking of things from other things and appropriating them or misappropriating them.

I think it’s a good idea to be up front about it, though, and to give credit, and link back. So, that is what I will try to do.

I doubt anybody gives a shit. But if anyone out there stumbles across an image or a part of an image that they believe belongs to them, let me know and I’ll take it down. Or give you credit. Or buy you an ice-cream. You can choose.

*

A further note on this whole “Souls” series. They are all built on the images of Polish photographer Stephania Gurdowa (1888-1968) from a monograph entitled “The Negatives Are To Be Stored”. 

I do not believe that my works are any kind of improvement upon the originals.

They are just what I am compelled to do.

*

A further note:  I am an inveterate thief of images.

***

