*

We will all be held responsible.

I won’t be the exception.

Despite my protestations.

*

Temple Grandin is the expert in designing slaughterhouses for pigs, sheep, and cattle. Autistic, she discovered the benefits of jamming her body into the metal restraints used to hold calves for immunizations and castrations.

The pressure on her made her feel calmer.

*

Designing a more humane path to destruction. Is it a good thing, or a horror?

Or a little bit of both?

*

I think you’ll know my answer.

*

I have a hard heart. I have hard hands and a hard head to go with them. I can do the required thing, though difficult and unpleasant.

I have a long experience with it.

Maybe I am a kind of a monster.

Maybe that is what I am, though I protest it.

*

Is there a difference between a monster, and what a monster does?

I doubt it.

*

Ask those to whom it is done.

There you will find your answer.

*

That which is good within me only serves to condemn me the more.

*

Namaste.

***

