*

We’s all busted up after a visit from the Wild Woman of Borneo. She come in like a tornado, tearing through our little straw house. What she didn’t blow down, she trampled and set on fire.

We had to send her on her way.

*

You got an idea about what’s right and wrong. About what you’ll do, and what’s a bridge too far. But you can just toss those ideas out the window. When it is upon you, you just do what your gut tells you to do.

Your brain’s too far away to be of any assistance.

Besides, it don’t have no better ideas.

*

So we sailed on into a full gale and in seconds we’d snapped our rudder, got beam on to the seas, knocked down and rolled, green water rushing in through the hatches and portholes, gear strewn everywhere.

Goin’ down fast.

*

We’ll weather it fine. Bail out the bilges, drift for a while. Let the sun dry things out. Let go of what’s gone or damaged beyond repair, fix the rest.

How we will deal with throwing a mutinous third mate to the sharks, I can’t fathom. But its done so I guess we’ll learn that next.

She never looked back. Struck off into the boiling seas toward parts unknown. She’ll most likely drown. There’s islands scattered here and there, but most are barren and lack what’s necessary to survive.

Ah, me.

*

Learning more daily about my own shortcomings and where I’m stout and sound. I’m not all bad, but I can see that country from here. As can we all, I suppose.

*

They say it’s going to rain hard and not stop for ten days.

***

Namaste.

*

