*

I have a collect call from an inmate at the San Luis Obispo County Jail.

If I want to hear the maximum charge for this call, I should press ‘nine’ now.

*

There is a plastic jar in the trashcan in my bathroom left behind by my daughter’s probation officer from her piss test.

I guess she peed clean.

*

I got no idea what I did wrong with her.

I really tried to be a good daddy. I read her bedtime stories. I taught her right from wrong. I held her hand and walked her to school for years and years. I went out in the world and tried to do good, and then I came home and tried to be even better.

It wasn’t no use.

She spits on it. Ever bit of it.

***

I don’t cotton to it.

***

On the one hand I am attempting to dissassemble the framework, apprehend things as they are. On the other hand, I probably can’t apprehend anything at all without the framework, so where’s that getting me?

*

I am a broken toy.

As are we all of us.

As are we all.

*

