*

Range training today.

Yay!

*

We had everybody grab their shotguns out of the trunks of their cars and get on line, get their guns up and running to address an active shooter downrange. I think I know what we were all thinking about.

*

It’s a ugly world. These shootings lately, I don’t know. How do you stop someone like that? Wants to kill our children. Torture them.

Putting a bullet in them, that doesn’t fix it. Well, it fixes one thing I guess. But that’s way too late.

Too late.

*

I got a weird ambivalence about shooting. I’m good at it and I work hard at it. I teach it to others. I want everybody to know how to run their gun and how to do it without thinking. How to get good hits, move to cover, shoot and move, do their tactical reloads, fix jams and stovepipes and double-feeds without even blinking.

I want all my people to live.

And, really, if we’re shooting at you, you pretty much need to be shot.

But I don’t for one second look at it like I’m putting little holes in paper targets, or knocking down steel plates again and again.

I know what I’m doing it for.

*

I think about it. See it for what it is.

*

The other day my wife tells me I need to seriously reexamine my ideas about manhood.

I don’t know what she’s talking about.

*

